July 22, 1942

Had meeting this morning with two doctors from H.Q. re: Carbon Monoxide poisoning.

At 11 a.m. Bill Hunt and I drove to Brighton – had dinner, then to Burgess Hill, picked up Dalrymple who drove us to Haywards Heath to catch a train for London. Had to go to five hotels before I finally got a room in the Mount Royal. We went to a show at the Hippodrome, then had dinner, then to King’s Cross Station where Bill caught a train for Edinburgh. I have just come back to the room – have had a bath and am now in bed. At 10:50 a.m. I start for Barnstaple in North Devon, the land of Lorna Doone and Westward Ho – will spend a few days there all on my own, have at last got rather excited about my trip.

Tags: ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

Leave a Reply

