August 15, 1942

Yesterday was a real red letter day for me – started out in the morning with my sixteen Blitz Ambulances, when I was recalled to see the Col. To my surprise, Col. Hunter (Old Handle Bars) was present. I was supposed to go out with him. WE had some pretty straight talk and I finally had lunch with him and was driven home in his car. On arrival was notified to get my Blitz Ambulance and go to Horsham right away to meet Gen. McNaughton. I flew, went into competition with 18th Field Ambulance and won out. Had a good long talk with McNaughton who was very complimentary about my cars and my methods of evacuation. All my stuff was adopted by the Canadian Army. Had a long talk with XIth Field Amb and with Col. Fenwick, A.D.M.S. – 2nd Div. – and feel at last maybe we are getting somewhere. Will not get too excited though until something happens.

Doc Alexander with a Blitz Buggy he modified to serve as an ambulance that could carry four stretchers. Courtesy The Military Museums, Calgary.

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

Leave a Reply

