Dieppe: a family scrapbook

Tags: , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

2 responses to “Dieppe: a family scrapbook”

  1. marie payne says :

    Hi Rob – that’s my dad next to your grandfather in the Dieppe returning soldiers photo (Bill “Poopdeck” Payne). I see he’s mentioned in some of your grdad’s journals. THANK you for creating this site. I am so grateful I found it just days before another Remembrance Day, as it gives me certainty about a saga of time that as a girl was not shared much with me. So grateful for your and my ancestors’ service for Canada. All the best – Marie Payne and family

    • Rob Alexander says :

      Hi Marie. What a great surprise! Thanks so much for your message. I’m really pleased that you found this site and are finding value in it. Great timing too. It sure seems that your father and my grandfather spent a great deal of time together. Did you read the entry of June 27, 1941 where “at 12:25 a.m. George (Friar Tuck), Stanton, Poopdeck Payne and I danced the dance of the fairies on the sports deck in bright sunlight.” So much for decorum! It must be a scream watching four captains cavorting about the deck, dancing the dance of the fairies.

      Rob

      Rob

Leave a Reply

