CBC Calgary Eyeopener interview

I spoke with David Gray host of the CBC Calgary radio show Eyeopener this morning in regards to Doc Alexander and this blog. To listen to the interview please click on this link: Canmore man publishes WWII journals

My thanks to David for a great interview and to Karen Moxley, CBC associate producer, for arranging it.

Tags: , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

7 responses to “CBC Calgary Eyeopener interview”

  1. K. M. Hunter MD FRCSC says :

    I heard the interview but unable to attend.
    My father, also a Dr. and one of your grandfathers medical “bosses” was also on LCT 8 and survived.
    He too had an account of that day with mentions of your grandfather.
    I would be happy to share more details if you are interested

    • Rob Alexander says :

      Hello Dr. Hunter. I most certainly would love to see your father’s account of Dieppe. Thanks so much for the offer. I’ve always hoped to find other accounts from TLC 8 from that day so I expand the story of what it was like on that landing craft during the raid. Cheers!

      • K. M. Hunter MD FRCSC says :

        Good. As it will require my sending you documents etc. I would prefer to do it by direct e-mail contact. You have my address so perhaps you could contact me there and I will reply.

  2. 403mwhite says :

    Hi Rob,

    Heard your interview on CBC radio last week.
    It inspired me to get to work on my dad’s WWII story.
    I too have all his journals, photo’s and the letters he wrote to my mom.
    He was an ERK with the RCAF – 403 Wolf Squadron – a Canadian Spitfire Squadron.
    There’s a blog on WordPress about the Wolf Squadron.
    I haven’t decided yet whether to publish on that blog, create my own, or look at other alternatives.
    It’s a story that should be documented somehow.
    Sigh!
    So much work so little time.

    Mark

    • Rob Alexander says :

      Hi Mark,
      Thanks for your comment and I’m really pleased that I could inspire you to work with your dad’s journals. It’s an amazing thing to have these journals and letters and I fully agree, these stories have to be documented. They’re of immense value. I find doing it via blog works well. It’s engaging and you can do as much work on it as you want (in all that free time I have!). It’s also a great way to share the story with others, and I for one would love to to read it. Please keep me posted and if there’s anything I can do to help, don’t hesitate to ask.

      Rob

  3. Rose says :

    We listened to the interview this morning. You sounded great. I am sure the presentation went just a well.

Leave a Reply

