Sept. 30, 1942

A lot of big bugs in the Medical world were here for a meeting today. John got very disgusted which pleased me greatly as they always shoot a lot of bunk.

This entry is a good example of where I wish my grandfather had written more. Who were these “big bugs in the Medical world?” Why was John Begg (commanding officer of the Calgary Regiment) disgusted and why did that please my grandfather? And why did he say “they always shoot a lot of bunk?” I have a vague idea about the last comment: My grandfather was not impressed by rank but by the person behind the bars or the stars and I know from other entries in the journals he did not like the military way or the command structure. It frustrated him and that led him into trouble on a number of occasions after speaking his mind. But the rest, who knows!

Tags: , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

Leave a Reply

