Most excellent Christmas and birthday presents

It’s been a wonderful Christmas and birthday for me. I received a couple of surprise gifts that once belonged to my grandfather. For Christmas, my uncle, Don, gave me the brown leather box that contains his watch, a Gruen with his initials and the year, 1939, engraved on the back, a King’s Own Calgary Regiment patch and three of my grandfather’s medals: his Victory medal from the Great War (engraved with his name and serial number) and two medals from the Second World War, the 1939-45 Star (surprisingly, with the France and Germany ribbon attached to it) and the Canadian Volunteer Service Medal. My parents, meanwhile, passed on to me for my 43rd birthday, which was Dec. 28, one of the commando daggers my grandfather sent home from England shortly after the Dieppe Raid. Two beautiful and meaningful gifts for which I am very grateful! I’m a happy man!

Christmas and birthday gifts: a few of my grandfather's belongings.

Christmas and birthday gifts: a few of my grandfather’s belongings.

Tags: , , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

Leave a Reply

