Jan. 9, 10 & 11, 1943

Jan. 9 Fooled around all day an went to Princes Theatre in evening to see a musical revue “Wild Rose.” Very good.

Jan. 10: Sunday – rested practically all day.

Jan. 11: Got up at 11 a.m. and was waiting for a taxi at Victoria Station when I met Mr. and Mrs. Spofforth, Ian, and another lady her five-year-old daughter, Juliet. We went to the Carlton Club on Pall Mall for lunch and then to Coliseum Theatre to see the Pantomine “Mother Goose”. I have just put the ladies and the children on the train for Worthing and I am going back to have dinner and spend the evening with Mr. Spofforth. I do not know what is on other than dinner at the Carlton Club. I has certainly been a grand day. Went back to the Carlton Club and while waiting for Mr. Spofforth wrote a letter home. We were too late for dinner, so walked over to the Savoy Hotel, ate and then returned to the Club, where we sat around and talked until after midnight. He walked with me as far as Buckingham Palace, then I walked back to the Hotel alone.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

One response to “Jan. 9, 10 & 11, 1943”

  1. Ian Spofforth says :

    Juliet Jordan. Later one of my first girl friends ! The club would have been the Junior Carlton Club where my father was a member rather than the Carlton

Leave a Reply

