May 11, 13, 15 & 16

May 11: After Officer’s board this afternoon, Poop and I went down to meet a Tank train in Langholm – stepped into a little tea room and had a swell tea. Jill’s photo arrived last night.

May 13: Have finished boarding the entire Unit tonight and am absolutely exhausted. Expect to go to Glasgow early on Saturday morning – phoned Rena Ferguson tonight, but she will not be there. I have never seen it rain any harder than it has for the last two days – everything is drenched. All the Unit with the exception of HQ Sqaudron is out on the ranges and will remain for another week. Two letters from home tonight, but expecting me back, but I am afraid it will be a long time before that happens.

May 15: at 7 a.m. – Dawson drove Ralph and I into Carlise, where he caught the train for Blackpool and I caught the train for Glasgow. Arrived in Glasgow at 12:29 and made connection with train to Giffnock station. Saw Rena before she went on holiday, then came home and had a sleep. In the evening Mr. Muir and I went to the Royal Theatre to see “Tonight’s the Night”. It was a grand show. Mrs. Muir’s sister is here for the weekend – we are having a grand time.

May 16: Mrs. Muir, her sister, Mr. Muir and I went to Church this a.m. This afternoon Alex Greenshield (the man who drove me to Loch Lomond) came in to tea and spent part of the evening here. Mr. and Mrs. Bruce were in for supper and have just gone home. Tomorrow I am to meet a Mr. Binning at Grosvenor for lunch – he is a drug manufacturer and I am trying to get a supply of drugs for the Unit. I am not on leave, but do not know when I will return to the Unit. As soon as I get my work done I guess. Now to bed.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

Leave a Reply

