Coming back to the journals of Doc Alexander after heartbreaking news

My apologies for the lengthy gap. A month and a half ago, I came to the first difficult entry, in that my grandfather had harsh words for a fellow officer in the Calgary Tanks. As I was deciding how to handle that entry, I learned that my sister, Lesley, had been diagnosed with stage four cancer. My sister and I are close so to learn  that she not only has cancer but that it is incurable yanked my feet from under me and knocked me to the ground. I lost all interest and passion in just about everything, this project included.

About all I could manage was watching re-runs on TV. Everything else was too hard, took too much energy. Even now, it’s a challenge to get back on track with this project. I did, however, commit to share my grandfather’s Second World War journals well over a year ago and I am now coming back to that commitment. My grandfather and the rest of the Calgary Regiment are now on a convoy that is bound for Sicily. The waiting is over. For the Calgary Tanks, aside from that one day in August 1942 at Dieppe, the war is about to begin in earnest.

My sister, meanwhile, is within days of coming home to Canmore. Our hope now is to make her comfortable and to keep her happy. I know that letting this project slide and fall away would disappoint her. Instead, as going by the motto of the Calgary Regiment – Onward – I’m going to forge ahead. Onward. It’s good advice.

I will start with one large post taking us from June 6 right up to the current date and then begin posting individual entries again.

Thank you for reading and for your interest in my grandfather’s story.

Tags: , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

2 responses to “Coming back to the journals of Doc Alexander after heartbreaking news”

  1. Ron Levagood says :

    Pls accept our expressions of support during this difficult time. Ron & Ilene Levagood

Leave a Reply

