Jan. 2–10, 1944

Jan. 2: Very busy day in the wards todsay. We are overcrowded. It is very cold and pretty difficult togive the proper attention. Bob Taylor phoned me tonight and is coming up with Pay Master in morning.

Jan. 3: Bob Taylor arrived about 9:30 and spent the day with me today. Col. Hunter talked with me today. I am to go in exchange to the 5th Div. He will be back on Thursday night and will probably have more information for me. Royal and I spent the evening together.

Jan. 4: On duty today, admitting. Tomorrow I am getting a track and am going to Naples and Pompeii – the following day I hope to go to Caserta and visit the 14th Gen. Hosp. Don’t know when I will leave here.

Jan. 5: Terrific snow storm in the mountains. Took a truck and drove to Naples, then down the coast to Pompeii. Went through the ruins of the City, or at least the excavated City. The streets are restored – the old chariot tracks very plain and in fact the whole thing is marvelous. Mt. Vesuvius was behaving well for us – smoke pouring from its peak.

Jan. 6: Saw a bunch of Calgary and Ontario boys today. Some going towards England.

Jan. 7: Moore, Bailey from XIth – Bruce Hunter from 2nd L.F.D., and Schofield from Brig. Ordinance visited today. They are on the same exchange I am. Have heard nothing more about England. Gork (Eng) – my roommate here left on draft for the front today.

Jan. 8: Capt. Gillespie from 6th Batn –a chap I knew in Seaford came up to visit and I went down and had dinner with he and Bob Taylor, after which we went to a picture show.

Jan. 9: On admitting duty all day. Nothing unusual.

Jan. 10: The cold weather seems to have gone, at least for the present. Steady Convoys of British troops passing towards Naples day and night. Looks as though something big is coming off.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

Leave a Reply

