May 21, 1944

May 21 – Must find out where my course is today, so I will be ready to get going in the morning. Expect to see Mrs. Spofforth and Ian tomorrow afternoon and I already have a seat booked for a theatre on Tuesday, but have forgotten the name of the play. This afternoon Tim phoned and I went down to the Harrisons at Argyle Mansions and had a piece of wedding cake and we drank to the health of the bridge and groom and saw Tim and Pat well on their way. Thus the wedding is a thing of the past. A great ending for this little diary but I want to send it back with Mrs. Spofforth tomorrow and have it put away with my other treasures. Once more I feel very lonely parting with it – but am afraid to keep it longer as I may lose it and I certainly value these two diaries.

The start of the third diary:
May 21, 1944 – Grosvenor Hotel – London. Attended Timmy Cameron’s wedding yesterday, and am starting a course in Neuro Surgery tomorrow. Am handing in my second diary to Mrs. Spofforth tomorrow. This is the start of my third diary since the war started. Certainly hope this will be the last one. This afternoon I got a phone call from Tim to come over to 48 Argyl Mansions to have a drink with them before they started out for Oxford. There were only the family present, so I went over for a few minutes and we got them started on their way.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.

Leave a Reply

